Hirshhorn Museum Trip

One of the things I love about living so close to DC is the amount of museums that are available to public and more importantly, that are free, so you don’t have to stress too much about money when it comes to learning and fun. However, out of all the museums here, the Hirshhorn is my favorite when it comes to exhibits and this one blew everything out of the water! Since March, there has been a much talked about art exhibit featuring the Japanese artist and writer, Yayoi Kusama. Her exhibit featured five infinity rooms (pictured below) along with sculptures and paintings and exuded a great range of pop and contemporary art and last week, I got to see it all.

My favorites of the infinity rooms where the rooms All the Eternal Love I Have for the Pumpkins and Love Transformed into Dots. Before going to the exhibit, I heard about the long waits for each of the rooms. However, it was only about a 10 minute wait for each of the rooms so it wasn’t too bad! But all of the rooms exceeded my expectations and in every single one, I felt like I was in another dimension. It was so magical, especially in The Aftermath of Obliteration of Eternity room with all the hanging lights.

The only room that my mom and I didn’t get to go into was The Souls of Millions of Light Years Away since that line was very very  long. But I loved all the rooms I did get to see (5/6 which is not that bad), the reasonings behind each one, and hopefully I can manage to get tickets again to see that last room so fingers crossed!

Down below are just some pictures from the exhibit and the link to all the rooms will be right here. If you want to go see the exhibit, free timed passes will be released every Monday at noon so try your luck to get some! The link to that is here. Good luck!

 

Leave a Reply

